Anything but that.

Chase,

You were a ten year old, fourth grader when you asked L to be your very first girlfriend. I didn’t really know what to think of that when I got the news, but the thought of “another woman” in my angel son’s life was hard on your momma!

A year and a half of fun and it was over because she moved to a different school. You said, “we never get to see each other” and that you “wanted to be able to see her more than just on Valentine’s Day to exchange gifts.” I’ll hold dear to my heart the memory of you wanting to talk to me before breaking up with her. Thank you for coming to me for advice. Thank you for trusting me. That conversation was everything! The tears on your face and the pain in your quivering voice was almost so much for me, that I second guessed my children EVER having boyfriends/girlfriends again! I had to hold back my tears! The fact that you weren’t upset for the reason you decided to break up with her, but that you were sad because this would make her sad, put your tender heart right out on display. I secretly celebrated having a son that would care so much about another person’s feelings. That is an amazing quality to have! I was so proud.

After your recent “first breakup,” I decided to strike up a conversation about your type of girl and see what would happen. A couple of months had gone by so I figured it wasn’t too tender of a subject to bring up. You’re so cute with an attitude of complete annoyance… Like, “Really Mom? Why do I have to talk to you about this?

SPORTY.” That was your immediate answer to what kind of girl you like. As we drove home from the grocery store, the conversation went something like this:

C: “I like girls that play sports. I don’t like those girls that get all dressed up and wear makeup and stuff to school.”

M: “So, you like girls in pony tails, tennis shoes and t-shirts instead of girls that curl their hair, and wear scarves and cute boots?”

C: “Yeah, exactly. All those girls do is come to school like that and just sit there. They just sit there and try to make the boys like them.”

M: “Well, what do you expect them to do, Chase?”

C: “ANYTHING BUT THAT.”

M: “Ohhhh, so you like girls that will get up and play with you at lunch or whenever?”

C: “Yes!”

While I doubt that your love for a girl who will actually get her hands dirty will fade, I’m sure there will come a day when you want her to be “the pretty one” with curled hair and cute boots. I may not be ready then, either. Time marches on…

I made mental notes of this conversation because it was so cute that I knew I wanted to write it down to look back on.

I love you so much, Chase. I pray that you marry a godly woman and that you will bless her life in ways that only a strong, God-fearing man can. ❤

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven” Matthew 5:16 

Leave a Reply

