You stole my breakfast.

Brennen,

Today, you stole my breakfast.

I’m sorry I got so mad at you. I’m sorry that it wasn’t even 7AM and you got to start your day with your mother acting like a three year old. I’m sorry I ruined your morning. I’m sorry that I couldn’t control myself and I threw a temper tantrum and fussed at you and slammed the freezer… and the door… and my car door… and then drove like a maniac out of the driveway. I’m sorry I acted that way in front of you… over a smoothie. I’m sorry that you felt it necessary to send me a sweet text apologizing and all I could muster up out of my hissy fit was a snide, “it’s fine.”


I’m sorry that I made you feel like you had done something wrong because you simply grabbed one of the three unmarked smoothies out of the freezer and drank it. You did nothing wrong. I’m so sorry.

Being the first to forgive shows bravery. Even when you were brave, I did not give you the reply you deserved. I know there will be many days in this life that my heart will break over the way I handled a situation with you. Today is one of those days. I pray that you will always have understanding and forgive me when I am not the mother you deserve. I am so proud of the young woman you are becoming. You have a heart to be desired. Protect it, but always be quick to forgive.

I love you, and I’m sorry. ❤

Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times? “Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.” Matthew 18: 21-22

6 thoughts on “You stole my breakfast.

  1. Christi says:

    Momma!!! I’ve been there too. Thank you for these words, of knowing we all make mistakes. But it’s how we own up to those mistakes, is what makes us more rounded for the future. Great reminder to us all. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mfields813 says:

    This one made me sob uncontrollably for a solid minute. I feel so guilty all the time! Everyday, after I have dropped both my boys off at their schools and drive off in silence, I think to myself, I could’ve done it better!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • abcmommyof4 says:

      I think we all have those moments, those days. It’s up to us to change it… we’re the adults, right? 🙂 Start one day and make it a goal. Before long, you’ll be dropping them off in such a different way, they won’t know any different!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

