Nothing Surprises Me Anymore.

Before I start, I’d like to throw a word of caution out there:

THIS IS DISTURBING.

It is foul, vulgar, crude and quite frankly, a damn shame.

The internet is scary, y’all.

On more than one occasion, I have had a fellow mommy ask me to “keep her in the loop” when I see disturbing new trends. I mean, it really does take a village. I am, by no means, a social media expert, but I do my research and I do get all up in my kids’ stuff. I’ve been known to drop in and demand a phone at a moment’s notice and have a little history lesson. I am confident that I am not the only parent that questions allowing her children access to the internet. Daily. It’s a weird thing, isn’t it? When we know it’s probably not the best idea, but we think, “Oh, my kids won’t do that. My kid won’t go there. My kid is clueless about that.” Well, let me tell you something… THEY KNOW. They have seen more on the internet by the age of fourteen than you probably saw in your first twenty-one years of life. I struggle with allowing my child to be relevant.

On to the topic at hand… the #sausagemovement

Lord, help us.

For those unfamiliar with this trend that is sweeping Vine, Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, and Twitter, it starts with a group of young people, children, that group up and start a beat. The rap starts with: “Everybody say sausage!” “keep it going!” “Eggs, bacon, grits… SAUSAGE!” It then continues with the group shouting the word “SAUSAGE” after each individual throws out a line. Males and females are both partaking, but I guess it’s just much more shocking to see/hear the things the girls are saying. The worst part of this whole trend is that it’s being recorded for entertainment purposes and uploaded to the aforementioned sites for likes and comments. Here is a link to one of the videos I have come across: The Sausage Movement

I’m not going to go into the unlimited ways this can negatively affect your child’s future. You already know that. I’m not going to tell you to ask your child about this, because I can almost guarantee that you will be met with “it’s supposed to be funny” or “lighten up.” I’m not going to express my disappointment in the fact that our children think this makes them cool. At the end of the day, that’s really all our teens want, right? Acceptance. We already know kids do stupid things. The question is HOW do we stop this? HOW can I keep my child from falling into the Pit of Dummies?!

TALK TO YOUR KIDS.


It wasn’t until I had drafted this entire blog that I suddenly remembered a video my teenager and her friends had made at church one night. Church Thugs I remember watching it with pride, thinking “how cute is this?!” I only just realized that this has to be linked (in a positive way) to the topic of this blog. In a mortified state, I realized that she has had to have seen these disgusting videos to even want to spin it in a constructive way. Oh, the shame! It hurts my heart to know that our precious sons and daughters, our angel babies, have viewed this filth. I have said it before and I will probably say it a hundred more times…

Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6 ❤

Leave a Reply

