It’s In Your Hands

You may or may not know that as I sit at my desk job everyday, I sometimes listen to sermons. I sometimes scroll through my newsfeed on Facebook, as well. Today, while on Facebook, a person that I would consider a dear friend, but in all actuality only touched my life for a brief moment, yet remains dear to my heart, shared a sermon by Pastor Steven Furtick of Elevation Church titled It’s In Your Hands. I was so excited when I saw Gina’s post because my husband and I adore this pastor! It is his sermons that I watch/listen to the most while I work! I immediately commented on her post and then proceeded to listen to the sermon. I had no idea from the title that it was in reference to the recent Charleston, South Carolina church shooting until it started. Underneath the video on the page, it states:

Every prejudice is handed down from somewhere. Let’s consider what we are handing down – whether we realize it or not – that shapes our lives, our families, and our communities.

As I listened, I found myself commenting out loud. I stopped, rewound, and replayed several parts, many times. I was able to relate to several of the things he shared and even felt a huge lump in my throat at certain points.

“What we need instead of an explanation is an examination.”

gty_charleston_church_shooting_04_jc_150619_1_v15x14_16x9_992

If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in Heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

Matthew 7:11

So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

Matthew 7:12

“One of the greatest gifts, blessings, or curses and burdens we give our children is our perspective.”

Let that sink in for a minute.

Here, read it again…

One of the greatest gifts, blessings, or curses and burdens we give our children is our perspective.

No father, even being evil, wants to give his kid a snake when his kid needs a fish, or wants to give his kid a stone when his kid needs a loaf of bread. That’s what Jesus said! Yet as fathers, when we pass on prejudice to our children, we’re handing them snakes all the time! We’re handing them stones all the time that they might grow up and throw at somebody who’s different than them because of the ignorance that we perpetuated through our perspective and our prejudice that wasn’t checked in our hearts! It’s got to stop somewhere! 

“What does not heal gets handed down.”

As Gina stated in her post on Facebook today, everyone needs to hear THIS message. I link it again because I want to make sure that it is easily accessible. I cannot even begin to highlight every profound point he makes. You just need to see it. IT STARTS WITH YOUR HEART. She said it and I will reiterate – IT WILL BLESS YOU. I promise.

Sometimes God has to break your heart to allow His light to come in.

Leave a Reply

