“This country has gone to hell,” they said.

Whoa, man. The internet exploded today over the Supreme Court’s ruling on same-sex marriage. The bigots and the Christians and the homosexuals went to war!

You can read all about that here.

I decided not to blog about this, but instead simply posted my two cents in ten words on Facebook, and the debate ensued. It wasn’t until my dear husband owned someone’s rant on Leviticus 20:13 that I was persuaded and decided to blog this so that it may be shared. I will post it here for those who do not wish to read the entire thread, which I linked above, but it definitely is a good read in it’s entirety.

Leviticus 20:13 says:

If a man lies with a male as he lies with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination. They shall surely be put to death. Their blood shall be upon them.

The burning response is as follows:

“Ok, to all those who keep referring to Leviticus… Thank you for doing so much to educate people regarding God’s Law.

When someone tries to defend the homosexual lifestyle, for example, I simply remind them that Leviticus 18:22 clearly states it to be an abomination. … End of debate.

I do need some advice from you, however, regarding some other elements of God’s Law and how to follow them.

1. When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a
pleasing odour for the Lord – Lev.1:9. The problem is my neighbours. They claim the odour is not pleasing to them. Should I smite them?

2. I would like to sell my daughter into slavery, as sanctioned in Exodus
21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair price for her?

3. I know that I am allowed no contact with a woman while she is in her
period of menstrual uncleanliness – Lev.15: 19-24. The problem is how do I tell? I have tried asking, but most women take offence.

4. Lev. 25:44 states that I may indeed possess slaves, both male and
female, provided they are purchased from neighbouring nations. A
friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not
Canadians. Can you clarify? Why can’t I own Canadians?

5. I have a neighbour who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2.
The passage clearly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself?

6. A friend of mine feels that even though eating shellfish is an
abomination – Lev. 11:10, it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality. I don’t agree. Can you settle this? Are there ‘degrees’ of abomination?

7. Lev. 21:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have a
defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear reading glasses. Does my
vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here?

8. Most of my male friends get their hair trimmed, including the hair
around their temples, even though this is expressly forbidden by Lev.19:27. How should they die?

9. I know from Lev. 11:6-8 that touching the skin of a dead pig makes me unclean, but may I still play football if I wear gloves?

10. My uncle has a farm. He violates Lev. 19:19 by planting two different crops in the same field, as does his wife by wearing garments made of two different kinds of thread (cotton/polyester blend). He also tends to curse and blaspheme a lot. Is it really necessary that we go to all the trouble of getting the whole town together to stone them? –
Lev.24:10-16. Couldn’t we just burn them to death at a private family affair like we do with people who sleep with their in-laws? (Lev. 20:14)

I know you all have studied these things extensively and thus enjoy considerable expertise in such matters, so I am confident you all can help.

Thank you again for reminding us that God’s word is eternal and unchanging.”


 PSA: If you tweet using #lovewins, Twitter will add a rainbow heart.

One thought on ““This country has gone to hell,” they said.

  1. Trina Rowland says:

    #1Christ died so we no longer have the need for sacrifices. Also, HE came to forgive sin not to allow it. Yes, we are now to forgive also and to love the sinner but not deny the sin. The only sin not repeated in the New Testament is to remember the Sabbath. So yes, homosexuality is still wrong but no we don’t still put them to death.

    #2 Yes, in the time of exodus right up until today people do sell their daughters when they cannot pay debts. The OT doesn’t condone this nor advise it. It does give guidelines for those who do. Jews could only place them as servants to other Jews. Their masters were not allowed to sell them to other nations. The Jews were somewhat better masters. Praise God this is not practiced in our society but it is in many others around the world. The Muslims in Syria are currently selling Christian women in children into slavery and publish current price lists. Slavery or servitude is just a heart beat away.

    #3 This one as with all you’ve mentioned pertains to practicing Jews. Are you Jewish sir? Anyway, her’s a quote for you.
    Romans 14:14 KJV “I know, and am persuaded by the Lord Jesus, that there is nothing unclean of itself: but to him that esteemeth any thing to be unclean, to him it is unclean.” So you no longer need worry about women and menstruating

    #4 See #2. Also, it’s illegal in the USA. Maybe move to Syria.

    #5 See #1

    #6 I would assume the word “abomination” might be deterrent enough. I mean bad is bad right? I’m not sure arguing degrees with God will omit the sin regardless of degree. Also, I recommend reading Acts 11. All your questions will be answered.
    Acts 11:8-9 KJV
    But I said, Not so, Lord: for nothing common or unclean hath at any time entered into my mouth. But the voice answered me again from heaven, What God hath cleansed, that call not thou common.

    #7 Hebrews 10:19 KJV
    “Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus,” God no longer sees the sinful man but Christ. His blood covers our human frailties. We no longer appear before altar of God. We can now go directly to Him in prayer! Praise God! I recommend a study of Hebrews to gather a full understanding of how our relationship with God has changed other than the time of temple worship by the Jews.

    #8#9#10 are all already addressed byte afore mentioned scriptures. I would like to suggest, in the future, if you want to quote God’s Holy Word, you start by studying it all. Also, His Word is forever and unchanging. If Christ had not fulfilled God’s plan, foretold in the OT, Jews would still be under the Law but Christ fulfilled the Law and made it physically impossible, by tending the veil (Mt 27:15) and the destruction of the Temple in AD 70.
    It is clearly stated homosexuality is wrong in the NT.
    Romans 1:27 KJV
    And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

    Marriage is between a man and a woman. Matthew 19:4-5 KJV
    And he answered and said unto them, Have ye not read, that he which made them at the beginning made them male and female, And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?

    I’m not sure of the condition of your soul but I’m am concerned because you seem to be mocking God and his Holy Word.

    Romans 1:21-23 KJV
    [21] Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened. [22] Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools, [23] And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.

    If a person is not a believer in Christ unto Salvation all these points are moot. If a person does not live by God’s word it is obvious he will not be swayed by Biblical arguments. I do not try to convince those persons. I love them and even though I disagree with their choice I do not hate them. Just as they should not hate me for my beliefs. I do not advocate punishing or disparaging them. I know some wonderful, kind, loving and fun homosexuals. It is my right, last time I checked, for me to have and practice my religion. This country was founded on freedom of religion and for the practice there of. Not freedom from being offended by my my beliefs. Nor can the government force the altering of my religion be forcing my church to marry homosexuals. Which isn’t a far cry from forcing a baker to bake a cake. THAT is our fear, NOT what goes on behind closed doors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

