Lukewarm.

Today is a little different.

In addition to sharing the Daily Bible Verse from the Youversion Bible App, I want to explain my intent in doing so.

We are in Week 3 of The Christian Atheist series at church and yesterday, Pastor Craig Groeschel listed seven qualities of a lukewarm Christian. One part of this sermon screamed out loud to me! He said, “It is so easy to be a Christian where I live, that it’s almost difficult to be a true one.” #BibleBelt

He said that at one point in his ministry, he was, “reading the Bible to preach, not for personal devotion.”

THIS IS EVERYTHING. I felt the Holy Spirit tap on the door to my heart and say, “Hey. This. Make sure you’re sharing for the right reason.” Wow. One of the very characteristics of a lukewarm Christian is “craving the attention of people.” As hard as that is to type even, as I do not want that thought about me, ever, I feel it is necessary to mention. Accountability.

I have trouble remembering what I read in the Bible a lot of times. To aide in retaining that knowledge, I decided to actually type out the verse every day and read the full chapter to grasp that daily scripture’s full context. I want to share God’s word with others. I do not want to tell people that I’ll pray for them, but rarely do it, as many of us do. I want to be able to call on scripture in all aspects of my life! So, believe me when I tell you that I am sharing this daily verse so that it can bless someone else, in addition to myself. I consider it a blessing to share it! Now, I would be lying if I told you that I don’t look back to see how many views my Daily Bread category has every day. On the other hand, when I see that even one person (usually my husband, ha!) read it, it makes me so happy to think that someone got a piece of the Bible that day!

 

 I hope this category blesses you.

Verse of the Day

Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

Psalm 51:12 NIV 

To read the full chapter: Psalm 51

Leave a Reply

