Smoke Break

It took everything I had to roll out of bed this morning.

Just yesterday I blogged about “being in the moment” and how important that is, but today, this morning… I wanted to remain in the moment that was before my alarm went off at 5:45AM.

I have been so emotional lately. Like, what is wrong with me?! Maybe it’s this season of my life. Maybe it’s just the reality of how tender my heart really is. I just can’t seem to get a grip on how special my life is. It is my most sincere confession that I am overwhelmed daily with the responsibilities in my lap. I take GREAT pride and accountability in the task at hand. It would crush my soul if I ever felt that I could no longer stand at the plate, eyes up, ready for the pitch. I don’t really know why I went with baseball there… I hate baseball. But, you get it. If you don’t take your life head-on, you’re going to get hit in the head with it.

On Thursday, Carrie Underwood took to Twitter to announce “Smoke Break,” the first single off her Storyteller album, which drops October 23rd. I listened to it on my way to work this morning and whoa! I felt like the first verse was written for me! It brought tears to my eyes, and why? I don’t even know! I think I was just overcome with the urge to scream out, “YES!! YES, EXACTLY!”

She’s a small town hard working woman
It’s time to make a living
Working three jobs, feeding four little mouths in a run down kitchen
When you’re never taking nothing
And doing nothing but giving
It’s hard to be a good wife
And a good mom and a good Christian

Saying I don’t drink
But sometimes I need a stiff drink
Sipping from a high, full glass
Let the world fade away
Saying I don’t smoke
But sometimes I need a long drag
Yeah I know it might sound bad
But sometimes I need a smoke break

Proverbs 18:10 says “God’s name is a place of protection, good people can run there and be safe.

When I’m feeling down on myself or like I just need to get away and take a smoke break, I lean in on God. Worry and stress mean nothing when I have faith. My God is good, y’all. Trust in Him!

The next time you get down on yourself, try thanking God for the very things that are causing your heart to ache. Oh, you’re a small town, hard working woman making a living working three jobs, feeding four little mouths in a run down kitchen? Well, thank God for those jobs that provide for those little mouths! Thank God you are healthy and able to work those three jobs! Thank God that you have a kitchen to feed those little mouths! You never take but always give? That’s amazing! What a blessing you must be to those around you! IT IS hard to be a good wife, a good mom, and a good Christian, but YOU CAN DO IT because God knew you were fit for the job!

“When the day gets long, when the work’s all done / When the sun sets, when you need to forget / Grab that cup, fill it up / Sip it slow, and let it all go.”

Leave a Reply

