The “C” Word

I will do this in journal form, from my point of view. I can’t always tell you what I’m feeling, so my hope is that you will have this to look back on for many, many years after you beat this.

I pray for this to have a happy ending.

October 1, 2015 –  Today is Thursday. On Sunday morning, you had a colonoscopy that will diagnose an abscess they found in/around your colon while searching for the source of an E.Coli infection. They told us that we should hear something by Tuesday. I’ve waited for my phone to ring with your face on the screen for days. I know that when it does, you will have the news. Pessimistic by nature, I just have a gut feeling it will not be good. Sitting at a volleyball game, I feel the vibration of my phone ringing and turn it to see Garrett Carter calling. I can tell by your voice that you’re fighting back tears, trying to be strong. You finally get those two words out… “colon cancer” and I physically feel pain in my heart. I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t know how to react. I wanted to be strong, but I was in shock. I wiped tears from my cheeks as I tried to finish watching the game and then put my “mom” face on afterwards so that she couldn’t tell I had been crying. That wasn’t the time to tell her. I went home and waited for you to break the news to friends and family. I got a Facebook notification at 7:28PM and still could not wrap my head around what I was reading.

 

I just sat there… staring, crying. How is this even real? I just can’t believe that it STILL continues to get worse for you. WHY IS THIS HAPPENING, GOD?!

Around 10:30PM, I was finally able to put something into text to share with all of our friends and family that had been praying for you.

I’ve sat staring at this screen for the longest time now… just at a loss for words, to be honest. I’ve thought about how to put my broken heart into words and then second guessed myself as not to make this about me. I want to be positive and appear strong and say the right things, but I’m struggling to wrap my head around the devastating news I heard today. I want to scream and cry and cuss and do all of the things you do when you can’t process your feelings. 

Today Garrett Carter received the news that we have prayed we would never hear. His procedure has confirmed that he does have colon cancer. They do not know what stage it is in, but they do know that it is not stage four, as it has not spread to his liver or lungs that they could see on CT scan. On October 15th, he will have 12 inches of his colon removed and five days after that he will learn what stage it is and what his options are as far as his treatment will go. 

Everyone knows Garrett to be a big, strong man, but I am his big sister and I know that he is scared, even if he won’t come out and say it to me. He is only 29 years old. He is always trying to take care of everyone else, even when he’s had nothing to give. He’s made choices that have not always been right and he has been dealt some hands, for sure. He has literally been fighting his entire life. 

But now, it’s time to go to war. It’s time to choose our words carefully, because words are the most powerful things we have right now. Bad things are going to happen. It’s how we react to those things when they happen that determines what God does. Our faith moves God. Kelly is working on a scripture to confess over Garrett and we’re going to get as many people praying that scripture and agreeing with us for healing as possible. JUST BECAUSE THIS WEAPON HAS BEEN FORMED DOES NOT MEAN IT WILL PROSPER, in Jesus name! Hope doesn’t require faith, but with faith comes hope. 

Please join us in praying healing over my brother. 

I love you so much, Garrett.

October 2, 2015 – Kelly made a video to start a prayer movement for you. At first, I wasn’t sure how you’d take it, but you seemed very appreciative and wanted to share it. The first time I watched it, tears streamed down my face as he introduced you in the video… put a face to a name… a soul to the need… I showed it to Chase as we drove down the street and cried my eyes out as he went straight into prayer right along with Kelly. It moved me in more ways than I originally thought it could.

 

October 7, 2015 – Verse of the day today:

 

October 12, 2015 – It’s Monday, three days before your surgery. I worked 9 hours overtime last week and will try to get a few more hours in this week before I leave on Wednesday to head to Temple. You said you didn’t feel good this weekend. Blood in the toilet that you didn’t make a fuss about, to severe cramps all day Sunday. When I woke up this morning, the verse of the day was already on my screen. Awesome how dead on they seem to be lately.

 

It’s getting harder to control my emotions about all of this. I’ve been crying a lot the past few days. I can’t even bring it up or be asked about it without crying… it just flows out of me like a flood. It looks and sounds like hours of coloring is keeping you busy… “therapy” as you call it. I can’t imagine what you must be feeling/thinking. You just called me for the second time today to tell me about Max. I can hear the smile on your face when you talk about him. There are good people in this world, angels. Today he called and talked to you about “being at halftime of a basketball game you’re getting beat in.” What a spot-on analogy to use! I thought I hid my crying, but since you just called back a third time and made fun of me for it, I guess I’ll need to try harder. I’ll see you in a couple of days.

October 13, 2015 – Patti called me today. She told me that the PA had come in and given you the news that you have another bone infection. She said the look on your face was pure defeat. I figured I’d give it a couple hours before I called to encourage you, because while you need all of the encouraging words you can get, I can respect the fact that you also need to process. I see that your faith is not strong right now. I recognize that you are struggling to keep your chin up. And I too am struggling! I refuse to let Satan into my head! I will not give in and stay away… even though I know you get tired of hearing all of the pep talks. I’m not going to stop! I will not leave your side and neither will Jesus. You are going to beat this. ALL OF IT. It’s just a toe! I wrote a blog for you today: FAITH > FEAR // WE WILL FOCUS ON THE BEST! It’s just a toe! It’s not your foot… not your leg… not your life.

October 14, 2015 – I made it.

  

October 15, 2015 – I wanted to complain about how terrible I slept, but I’m sure it hardly compared to your night of rest, so I won’t. We woke up early, around 5AM. I could tell how nervous you were, but I still tried to be delightful, even making a joke about the enema your nurse just informed you that you’d have to have. You didn’t find the humor in it. As you prepared to go, I felt a very strong urge to gather us all up and pray. I don’t think I can put into words the insecurity I have with praying out loud. I just don’t do it. EVER. There was a major internal battle happening within me and it was all I could do to wipe my tears and muster up the strength to ask for everyone’s hands. I tried to be strong and not choke up, but that was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. Even though heads were bowed and eyes were closed, I felt my palms start sweating and my face turning red. The lump in my throat swelled and my chest grew tight. I know I sounded like a rambling fool, but my heart was intentional, even if my words were all over the place. Tears soaked my cheeks as I followed you to the elevator. Good job on holding it together until you got into the elevator… better than I could do. Timer starts now… it’s 7AM. The hours passed fairly quickly. Five hours later, your surgeon met with us and told us that she had successfully removed 12 inches of your colon and that it would take 5 business days for a stage diagnosis. She said your lymph nodes were enlarged and the mass was large – T3 or T4, she said.

colon_cancer_002

She explained that if the tests come back that there is cancer in the lymph nodes, you will need chemotherapy. The problem with that is that you have chronic Osteomyelitis (bone infection) in your foot and chemo will kill your immune system, however they should start chemo within 30 days of removing cancer from the body. What are they going to do? How will the get you better? There is a complicated road to recovery ahead, but I am hopeful. I am praying that you won’t need chemo! Please, God!

 

Thumbs up for a successful surgery!

It was after 2PM when they finally got you a room. We hustled up to your old room to get all of your stuff and get it situated in the new one before they got you in there. When you arrived, you were in agony… and it didn’t stop for almost twenty-four hours. Tensions were high and it was getting pretty stressful in that tiny room. You had three women – Mom, Tammi, and myself fighting for you.

 

After what seemed like countless doctors, nurses, surgeons, and pain management team members in and out of your room, they finally got you comfortable for a bit.

 

It was such a relief to finally see you resting! They said you were on ten times the normal amount of pain medicine. You said that you hadn’t prepared for that kind of pain. Mom and I both stayed with you that night.

October 16, 2015 – There is a new nurse on the floor today and oh man, she is all business! She was not scared of pain medicine and fixed you right up! She probably spent over an hour getting you all situated by barking out orders to the other nurses, but they listened and it got done. We were so thankful for her! A little later, Physical Therapy came in to get you up and moving. You were not interested, but it didn’t take much from me harping in your ear and you were moving. I think it was more to shut me up, but hey, whatever works. You surprised everyone and not only sat, you stood, and then you took some steps. I could tell by your face that you surprised yourself. It was a turning point, for sure. Things were looking up! I left to take a shower and when I got back, we hung out and joked around for a few hours before crashing out. I was glad to stay the night with you again. I like bossing you around.

October 17, 2015 – You look great! You’re getting up and around with ease, your catheter is out, you’re hungry and eating… and complaining about the beef broth, and I even threw on some gloves and redressed your big, nasty feet. Ha! I know you must have felt better too, because you were trying to boss me around, telling me how to clean your room. We got everything cleaned up and cleared out so that you were set up for the next few days, as I was about to head back to Oklahoma. Once mom got there, it was time for me to go. Both of y’all started hugging and kissing on me… gross! I was excited to give you the journal I had bought for you, but not until I was walking out incase y’all tried to get all emotional on me.

 

I don’t know if you know what “don’t ever let the sun set on the top of your head” means, but since I made it up, I’ll explain that I’m simply saying don’t go to bed hanging your head. At the end of every day, hold your head up with confidence and say that you gave it everything you had that day. That is all we have, after all. One day at a time, Garrett.

October 18, 2015 – You were the first thing on my mind when I woke up at home today. I hated leaving you. I wish that you were closer, but I will see you again in a month or so. You said that you didn’t sleep at all last night, but that you stayed up coloring all night instead. You also said you had another MRI on your foot today. I sure hope no more bad news comes from it. I know you are just so tired of being sick.

October 19, 2015 – Another day, more “bad” news. We were on the phone when you had to let me go because the doctors had come into your room. You just called me back and told me that they are going to take your big toe. You are so pissed. I can’t imagine how that news sounded to you, but I can assure you that it sounds like answered prayers to me! Proverbs 3:5-6 instantly came to my mind! I know you cannot possibly understand His plan or his timing, but I truly feel this is an answer to prayers! Maybe not your specific prayers, but I just know this is the path to getting you healthy.

October 22, 2015 – I was waiting until the end of the day to update, as I figured we’d have an oncology report and I’d have a full day of emotions to type out. However, that is not the case right now and I am so upset and angry that I figured I’d let a little bit of it out in this way before I irrationally jump into my car and drive 6.5 hours to Temple, Texas and act out. I texted you as soon as I woke up today, but they had already taken you back for the amputation. Mom texted me around 9:30AM telling me that she slept through you being taken for surgery, but that she would call as soon as she got word. A couple hours later, she did call and let me know that she had just spoken to your surgeon over the phone, at the nurses station, and that, “Everything went fine and if you’ll just stay off of it and allow it to heal, you’ll be up and around like normal in no time, living a happy life.” Awesome! Well, not ten minutes later, mom posts on Facebook, “He woke up in surgery and felt it all. I am livid and will talk with the anesthesiologist.” Umm, WHAT?! I had JUST gotten off the phone with her! I started blowing up her phone, but no answer. A million horrible thoughts started flooding my mind so, I just decided I’d try to call you… and you answered! Wide awake! I could feel the anger in your voice as you explained that you woke up during your surgery and you were tied down. You said someone was laying on your leg and you ripped off your mask and started yelling that it hurt and that you could feel it! I cannot imagine what that was like for you, Garrett! I’m so sorry all of these horrible things keep happening to you! Mom says you’re in pain, but that you’re so mad and have so much adrenaline that you can’t relax.

The oncology report came back today, of all days! I just hung up the phone with you again… 27 lymph nodes tested – ALL NEGATIVE FOR CANCER! Oh, my heart! PRAISE GOD! All I can think is that now that the infected bone in your foot is gone and the cancer in your colon is gone – you’ve reached the top of the mountain! It’s got to be a downhill slide from here! You said you might need to do 6 weeks of chemo, and I say BRING IT ON. You’ve got this! Life is about to get back to normal for you, I just know it.

I’m just sitting here on cloud 9… just sitting here smiling, crying… my heart is overjoyed.

October 24, 2015

IMG_1527

You: “The bone is gone halfway down the stitches.”

Me: “And you were awake during that?!”

October 26, 2015 – Got this Snapchat from you today:

 

I guess the saying “I came through this in one piece” no longer applies to you.

Had to. Love you!

October 28, 2015 – Well, another setback… the bone in your foot is still infected. 6 more weeks of IV antibiotics. I could hear the disappointment in your voice. I know you’re ready to be OUT OF THERE. The oncologist told you today that if they had not found and removed that cancer, you would be dead by the age of 39. THIRTY-NINE. I am so thankful that you are cancer-free! I can’t even imagine not having you in my life.

Mom called. She said that you have to have another surgery to remove more of your bone. This is number 11. She says she will come back and stay with you for that. You definitely don’t need to be alone, as your anxiety will be through the roof, I’m sure. I called to get the details from you, but you said the podiatrists will be in tomorrow to go over options with you. Infectious Disease could only tell you that more needs to be removed. Mom said, “After everything he’s been through, I’d just tell them to take the whole damn foot!” No, Mom. DON’T say that to him! I’m sure you’re sick and tired to death of all of us giving you advice as to how and what we would do. After talking to you, it was clear that you’re okay with whatever needs to be done. I’ll be waiting to hear what they have to say tomorrow.

November 3, 2015 – It’s been a few days since I’ve written. That’s mainly because it’s been fairly quiet on your end. Seems like the craziness has calmed a bit and you are just over there getting healed up… and building model cars. After excitedly telling me about the last one you built, you said, “Haha, I sound like a little boy.” I don’t think so at all. I’m happy that you’ve found something healthy, in addition to coloring, to relax your mind. After being directed all over the place, I finally got through to your room after you messaged me, asking me to call this morning. You said you have to have another surgery tomorrow because your foot is swelling and hurting again. They told you it’s a hematoma possibly caused from a leaking vein, and they will need to go in and clean it out and put you on a wound vac for a week. My mind instantly went to dad, as I’m sure yours did. I’m so glad that mom is coming to be with you… I know you’re scared.

 

Father God, I just come to you right now, Lord, and I lift up Garrett, God. I lift him up so that you, our Mighty Physician, would put your healing hands on him, Lord. It is time! I know that we cannot understand your timing, and I thank you with my whole heart for answering our prayers thus far, God. Thank you, the cancer is gone! You know his heart. You know his mind. I pray that you ease his anxiety, his frustration, his fear, and his worry, God, and that you place him under your protection from any further trauma. Lord, I know that you did not cause this weapon to be formed against him and his life, but that you will use it. This is his story. He will use it and tell it one day, after he is completely healed, in Jesus’ name! He will walk in his purpose! Father I pray that you will renew his faith and guide him in every moment of this journey, especially the dark times, as we know that you are the light to our path. Thank you in advance for the work you are doing in Garrett’s life, Lord. He will have a miraculous testimony!

November 4, 2015 – I text you at 6AM to see if you had gone back into the torture chamber yet… nope, but soon. Our normal morning conversations usually start by asking how you slept, since that realm of normalcy is nowhere near where it should be. You replied that you had bad dreams all night, and that you are tired. You said you “have these dreams every night, that you hate falling asleep, and that you hate them for doing this to you.” We talked a bit about PTSD and how important it is that you talk to them about what you are experiencing. I truly hope you do… but I highly doubt you will.

Surgery went GREAT! Hallelujah, for real! HIGHEST PRAISE! I mean, let’s be honest – if you didn’t wake up this time, I’d consider it a success. They told mom that you had several clots that they were able to clean up, no problem. She said they put a sponge in there and will stick you on a wound vac and you’ll be good to go in no time. NO SIGN OF INFECTION AT ALL! Yes! Yes! Yes! Prayers are being answered, FINALLY some progress!

So, after your surgery, mom left to get food and some model cars for you and gets in a car wreck. Some lady runs a red light and hits her so hard, it breaks the axle on her car… totaled. The tow truck basically drops her and all of her belongings off in front of the hospital. WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON?! If I had a dollar for every time I have said “what next” in the last 16 months, I’d be rich!

November 5, 2015 – Mom is in the ER – at your hospital. Wow. This is just insane. Looks like she will be there awhile…

A card from Life.Church came in the mail for Chase today.

 

I called him down to get it and asked him if he wanted to talk about these fears mentioned in the card. He instantly broke down, and I wasn’t prepared for that. I thought he might be having an issue at school or something, but no – He “thinks you’re going to die.” I went over and hugged him and told him it was going to be okay, that they had removed all of the cancer, but he said that someone at church talked about one of their family members having colon cancer and having it removed, and that it came back and they’d been fighting it for six years. Chase is convinced this will happen to you and it broke my heart. He loves you so much, Garrett. I told him to call or text you anytime he is feeling sad, just to talk to you.

November 6, 2015 – Mom was still in the ER last night when I went to bed, so as soon as I woke up, I checked my phone to see if one of y’all had called me. She was finally released after ten hours. Bruised lung and bronchitis, kidney stones and stones in her gallbladder. I’m so glad it wasn’t something much worse, but really – enough already. Whoever has the voodoo doll with our family name on it – WE GIVE! Enough already!

You just told me they’re sticking the wound vac on for two weeks… I can tell you’re bummed… again.

November 10, 2015 – You’ve been so quiet lately. I don’t know if it’s because you don’t have your phone or if you’re just in your zone over there building model cars, or if you’re in a “non-social place” after being locked in there for so long. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit concerned. I’m sure you will come right out of it once you get acclimated back to the real world… I worry about all of the meds you’re on… I just worry about you, a lot. I sure wish you were closer so I could see you in person more.

You told me last night that you have the flushing wound vac on right now and that it hurts. I asked what the plan was for when that comes off and you had no idea. I definitely think you’re in the “roll with the punches” mode now, as you seemed completely complacent. Hang in there, G! As we talked, you rubbed your head and said how bad you needed a haircut. That made me giggle a bit and I told you that you might as well let it grow and enjoy it while you have it. Your face changed… I could tell that you haven’t thought about that much. You asked if you’d lose all of your hair, and I told you yes, possibly even your eyelashes. Damn… I guess what’s crazier to me is that life took this major, sharp left turn when they confirmed cancer, but within one month’s time, we’re back to just sitting and waiting on this foot… like it was a dream… like did that even happen? I still just cannot believe my little brother had cancer. I cannot believe you’re still sitting there, waiting, day after day after day for this foot to show some progress so that you can get on your way back to that hole in the ground they call Midland/Odessa/Kermit/Wink and get started with chemotherapy. That word is just surreal to me.

November 13, 2015 – Early morning text from you said they just took the wound vac off because your foot looks so good. They put steri-strips on it to close it up and a compression dressing. They said they will leave that for a few days and see what it looks like. YES! YES! YESSSS! Progress! I’m so happy!

Errr… they came back in and put the wound vac on. They said it looks good, but they’re going to leave it on through the weekend just for extra healing. Okay… why even take it off and get your hopes up? Seriously.

November 16, 2015 – Annnnnd, they’re leaving the wound vac on until Wednesday now.

November 18, 2015 – Annnnnd, now they’re leaving the wound vac on until Friday. As you said, “They are leaving it on until Friday, then they will probably say they’re leaving it on over the weekend.” I am really hoping you’ll be able to be home for Thanksgiving. You said Patti told you that she will take care of you for Thanksgiving, if you’re still there. I have no doubt that she would! I am so thankful for that angel woman!

November 20, 2015 – They took the wound vac off! It looks really good and closed a lot, like it was supposed to. Hallelujah! You said you were surprised at how much it closed and that they run their wound vacs on a higher setting than they did in Tulsa so, it worked a lot better. More good news… I’ll take it!

 

  

I cannot believe how much the bottoms of your feet have healed! You sent these pictures and I could just tell by your words that you were excited. Wow, what a difference! You’ve come a long way, Garrett!

November 21, 2015 – Pissed. I am so angry right now! I just got off of the phone with you and again, I just sit here shaking my head. You said that one of your surgeons just came in and informed you that he is taking you back into surgery tomorrow to remove the rest of the bone in your foot that is still infected.

WHAT?

Sometimes I just do not have words. He said that “they,” whoever “they” is, should never have left that last piece of bone in there, the bone that’s still infected, and that he is going to remove it all, so that there is no infection at all. He said “they,” there’s that “they” again, should never have left your wound open, seeing as you have an infection that thrives in an open wound, and that he would have stitched you up to get you healed. Umm, okay. Apparently he’s been off for four weeks? How convenient. Four weeks of WASTED time for you, again. I’m glad they got you almost healed up and he is going to start the process over. I’m just so mad.

20151121_085000

Mom is on her way, again. It makes me really happy to see her on her way each time you have surgery. I’m glad you have her there for you when you come out of it every time.

November 22, 2015 – Text from you at 12:20am said mom just got there. Text from you at 6:30am said you’re heading back to surgery. Mom called while we were in church and left a voicemail saying she had just spoken to the surgeon and you came through surgery just fine. She said you would be in recovery for awhile (I’m sure they make DAMN sure you are out for surgeries now) and that he told her, “he’s pretty sure he got all of the infection out and there should be nothing left.” He told her that they needed to get you home, that he felt good about this, and that you would make a great recovery now. Text from you at 2:45pm said “I’m back.” After talking to you and Skyping with you and mom, you seem good, but said you’re hurting pretty bad. I can’t imagine after so many surgeries!

Sure do love you. I’m so glad you’re still 9 toes in and kicking it with us earth side.

November 23, 2015 – Just texting to check in this morning:

November 24, 2015 – Today’s photo update:

IMG_1552

Hopefully that swelling is only from the recent trauma of surgery! You said it was just from surgery and they pulled the drain plug out. More progress!

November 25, 2015 – I texted you to check in this morning and you said you haven’t been sleeping much because you’re having crazy dreams.

November 26, 2015 –  Dang it. I wish you weren’t there today. I’m glad Patti brought you some good Thanksgiving food, but I can tell you’re depressed bout being there on a holiday. Didn’t hear from you all day, then finally you texted back tonight and said you slept all day because it was depressing. Pain is a little better.

November 27, 2015 – So Mike Sweeten came by to see you! That made me so happy. You said he was in Austin and wanted to come so, he brought you some food and stayed awhile. I bet he missed Dad yesterday too.

November 30, 2015 – They took out the bottom half of your stitches this morning! They are leaving the top half for  few more days, but hey – more progress! You said it looks good! Max brought his son to visit today. You always have the nicest things to say about him. I’m glad you’ve made a new friend in him. You sent this picture today:

VZM.IMG_20151130_152205

Just seeing that made me smile so big! That has needed to happen for so long! PRAISE GOD! Finally! No more bandages! Both feet are completely healed up! Tomorrow they are stopping all IV meds… hmmm, scary. Hope that goes smoothly for you and you don’t get sick. It’s crazy to think about the amount of antibiotics and pain meds your body has taken in over the last year.

December 1, 2015 – Happy birthday in Heaven, Dad.

FullSizeRender

THIS TEXT: “The doc just came and talked to me. I GET TO LEAVE THURSDAY. Lol. Yes. I’m so ready for that.” That has got to be the best news I’ve heard in so long. I know how happy you must be because I don’t think you’ve EVER texted me in all caps. Ha!

FullSizeRender

Doc says you need to use your crutches and the boot, and stay on oral antibiotics. You said you helped yourself to a whole stash of medical supplies to keep your foot dressed and clean… I’d say that’s the least that place owes you.

November 2, 2015 – I hadn’t heard from you all day so I texted to check in. I figure you’re going crazy in there, watching the clock, wanting to leave. You said you’ve just been laying there, in the same bed you’ve been in for almost 4 months, and that you gave yourself a haircut and showered, just trying to pass he time. I asked if it felt the same as when you were getting out of prison and you said it kind of does. I know 4 years doesn’t compare to 4 months, but I’m sure the anticipation to walk out of there is a familiar memory. You said that you’re going to take yourself to the drive-in in Midland and watch Creed. Ha! That’s cool. I’m so happy to see a little pep back in your tone. Dick just brought you dinner and went to his hotel. Guess it’s really happening! Yes!! Can’t wait for tomorrow!

I have been trying to think of a way to close out this blog, and you just did it for me. I can’t screenshot your post because it’s too long so, I will quote it (even with your horrible grammar ad lack of punctuation) now:

August 16th my mother got on the phone with Scott and White hospital and talked to anybody that would listen after hours of phone calls she told me I just needed to go to the emergency room. She wanted to drive me but I told her no that I can do it. So I got in my car and drove 6 hours to the ER I arrived after midnight to a very packed emergency room and was admitted for a serious bone infection in both of my feet. The next day is when they started my surgeries on my feet. I had 11 surgeries on my feet. I lost my big toe but I’m OK with that because the infection is all gone and my feet will be OK. During my stay I got sick and found out that I had colon cancer. Wow. So that was a shocker and it really broke me down like never before. But my family and friends and ppl I didn’t even know pulled together for me and was there with me every step of the way while I beat this cancer. I lost 12 inches of my colon but I’m OK because the cancer is gone and tomorrow I finally get to go home after a 3-1/2 month stay in this hospital it’s all over with. I want to thank every person that liked my posts or commented on my posts or said a prayer for me and my family or cried tears for me or sent mail or actually drove up here to be with me thank y’all so much. I have to give Patti Monroe and Lesa Miles a special thank you for being here for me the way y’all have. I love y’all and will forever be grateful for what y’all did for me while I was here.

WOW. Tears, Garrett. My heart is so, so happy.

November 3, 2015 – Today is the day!! I woke up to this Facebook post and it cracked me up: “So when I came and checked in to the hospital I had 2 bags that’s it. Lol. It feels like I’m moving outta here. Thanx to everybody that brought/sent me stuff.” 

IMG_1728

Ha! You posted this at almost 4AM. Guess you were up all night packing to GO!

I think it is only appropriate to end with this:

IMG_1729

I love you with all of my heart, Garrett. I am so thankful that this chapter of your book is ending. I will continue to pray happiness and health over you daily.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “The “C” Word

  1. Todd says:

    My family and I have been going through a soap opera ourselves; not medically, but just as real and just as potentially lethal. We, too, have the “what’s next?” Feeling and nothing but prayer and faith to grasp. Thank you for sharing. I shed so many tears readin this blog and I am delighted that things finally seem to be looking better. Thank you for sharing. Sometimes, the perspective of knowing others are also struggling with dark times helps. Btw, Kermit and Wink are not all that bad if you like sand, snakes and sinkholes… They do have beautiful sunsets and great sand dunes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • abcmommyof4 says:

      Todd, thank you so much for the comment. It is so hard to see a light at the end of the tunnel when you’re in the trenches! Keep praying and keep your chin up. It has only been a couple months since the last update in the blog, but things have only gotten better!

      Also, I graduated from Kermit High School in 99. Kermit and Wink are my old stomping grounds! I lived in Midland before moving my family to Tulsa in 2010. I don’t miss it. Ha! I love the grass and water, and all 4 seasons! 😉

      Like

Leave a comment