You Get What You de(SERVE)

I want to preface this with a very real statement:

Someone will be offended by this.

Not my intention in any way, but this could easily come off as judgmental. Believe me when I say that it is merely an observation I have made and there is no judgment here. More so, curiosity drives today’s writing.

Why do YOU serve?

Through serving we glorify God, build up the church body and reach out to others. When each of us does our part and uses our God-given gifts, we help to build up the local church and the larger Christian community (Eph. 4:12, Eph. 4:16).

Without sounding excessively critical, it has peaked my attention that more times than not, a certain “type” of person is serving/volunteering at church. This is in no way 100% of the time or something I have sought out, but I’ve just taken notice. I understand that it takes a serving nature to take on such responsibility, and that that very nature does not encompass all types of people. But, who wouldn’t want to be a blessing to others? Exactly! We ALL do!

What “type” of people am I talking about?

In my humble opinion, the class difference is blindingly obvious. Why is that? Why does it seem like the lower or middle class, the not-so-perfect or not-so-gorgeous, and dare I say not so wealthy people are the ones serving others in our church? What is it that makes one too good to serve others?

The only answer I can surmise is that maybe there is no reason to give back to God when one doesn’t realize that He gave it all to you first! If you don’t see your life as something you didn’t deserve or earn, but were graciously given by the creator of the world… it is more clear to me why giving back is of little value to you. It is a heart issue, a conviction or lack thereof.

Let me raise this question for you to ponder:

Is it better to first be blessed and miss the point of all you have being a gift, or is it better to struggle and rely on God so that when you are blessed, you know exactly where it came from and the value it holds?

44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”

48 Then Jesus said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” Luke 7:44-48

 I leave you with this video:

Leave a Reply

