Whiskey On My Breath

If you were to ask a room full of people to raise a hand if they had personally been affected by a loved one that has struggled with alcoholism or drug addiction, I’d be willing to bet that 8 out of 10 would raise their hand. Killer of families, destroyer of lives… drugs and alcohol are ruthless. I have a precious aunt that once told me to love the person, not the disease. Easier said than done.

On my way to work every morning, I listen to The Bobby Bones Show. This isn’t the first time I’ve blogged about a song that they featured, and I’m sure it won’t be the last. Why, you might ask? Music runs through my veins. It is my heart and soul and it speaks to me in a way that I can’t describe to someone who isn’t wired this way.

Love and Theft is a country duo composed of Stephen Barker Liles and Eric Gunderson. Not necessarily a new song, but Whiskey on my Breath has taken off in the past couple of days and when I heard it this morning, I felt like it reached into my chest and ripped my heart out. I HAD to share it! There’s something very real about an alcoholic singing about meeting Jesus with whiskey on his breath; It just gets you. It’s honest.

And those old school church hymn harmonies that haunt the chorus… CHILLS.

I woke up with a pounding head
With a bottle laying in the bed
There was a little, a little bit left
So I picked it up and I killed the rest

Oh I know I’m going to heaven
But I can’t go with me like this
I need to pull myself together
Before then
No and I ain’t afraid of dying
But what scares me to death
Is meeting Jesus
With whiskey on my breath.

 

Leave a Reply

